Basin Electric employee writes book on overcoming depression

Sandra Gallagher

Sandra Gallagher, Basin Electric accounting analyst I.

When Sandra Gallagher sat down to start writing, it came as the result of a lot of pushing. Her friend Carol had been urging her to write about her life for years.

But when Gallagher, Basin Electric accounting analyst I, started writing in June 2015, she wasn’t sure what she would find. “I sat by the lake with a notebook and pen. I wasn’t sure where to begin or how to make it work,” she says. “Writing the intro and first three chapters was very traumatic, but it helped me come to terms with things.”

Gallagher’s book, “Shattered Secrets,” tells her life story and how she has been able to find healing in her faith. “I want people to focus on the healing, rather than the troubles I’ve faced,” she says. “People have gone through worse things in their lives than I have, but I needed to tell those stories to explain how I was able to come through it. I want people to know you can live a normal, happy life with depression.”

Gallagher says writing the book was healing for her as well. “There were events that I had pushed out of my mind, but I realized how they shaped my life,” she says. “I learned a lesson in coming to terms with my own behavior and taking responsibility.”

She considered writing under a pseudonym or her maiden name, but decided against that. “I did this to help other women. I have lived too much of my life being scared and depressed, and this has been a way to put that behind me,” she says. “I spent last weekend at a retreat with other women, and in talking about the book, I realized how many women have gone through the same things I have. We can support one another.”

Gallagher will be holding a book signing at Barnes and Noble in Bismarck, ND, on April 23 from 1-3 p.m.

Leave a Reply

