Why Basin? Be part of a strong co-op team

Kristi Blumhagen

Kristi Blumhagen is living proof persistence pays off.

“I had applied to Basin probably a hundred times before I got an interview,” she says.

On Aug. 26, she finally claimed her place at the cooperative’s Headquarters in Bismarck, ND, and it was worth the wait.

The co-op features a positive team culture

As the associate contract administrator sits at her fourth floor desk, she talks about how great it is to be a part of the Basin Electric team. For Blumhagen, the people are what make the co-op great.

“People at Basin Electric feel like they belong to something,” Blumhagen says. “I make an effort to try and get to know people because I think it’s important, and I think it builds a good team environment.”

Blumhagen says it is easy to get to know co-workers in the multiple departments at Basin Electric. When she walks through the front doors, it’s not tough to break the ice.

“I’ll walk in the lunch room and I’ll sit with whoever’s sitting there,” she says. “I’m perfectly fine to sit down and introduce myself.”

People feel welcome at Basin Electric. Watch the video

Blumhagen, a Mandan, ND, native, was eager to merge into the culture when she first arrived at Basin Electric, and she quickly learned the feeling was mutual.

“When I started here, I was welcomed with open arms. Everyone has been extremely nice and extremely welcoming,” she says.

Before starting at Basin Electric, Blumhagen spent five years in communications and marketing at Bank of North Dakota in Bismarck. She brings a strong communications mindset to the cooperative.

During an average day at Basin Electric, Blumhagen reviews contract alerts, talks with plant managers, looks at options for bidding, and gets the best price. It’s all part of her job description, and she loves it.

“Not only does the job have to fit me, but I have to fit the job,” she says.

Blumhagen says Basin Electric offers competitive wages, as well as an impressive benefits package. She also enjoys the fun atmosphere.

“They make an effort to try to get people together,” she says a couple of hours after the co-op put on an employee BBQ.

Bismarck is a wonderful community

At the end of the day, when she leaves the co-op she’s come to love, Blumhagen is happy to come home to her husband, Lee, and 10-year-old son, Jacob. The family lives in Bismarck, and it’s a perfect fit.

“I think it’s a very safe community,” Blumhagen says. “If I were going to raise my family, this would be the place I’d want to do it.”

She adds the local Parks and Recreation department offers many activities for young people, and the area schools are top-notch.

Blumhagen is thrilled she is able to work at Basin Electric. What was once a mere idea has become a beautiful reality.

Leave a Reply

