A day in the life of a boiler attendant at Leland Olds Station

Katie Humphrey, Leland Olds Station

Katie Humphrey, Leland Olds Station boiler attendant.

For Katie Humphrey, the call came on a day “on.” Nowadays, the same situation would be considered her day “off.”

She was on the tractor, making hay on her father’s farm near Coleharbor, ND.

“It must have been Deb Meyhoff (Basin Electric employment coordinator). I answered my cell and she said, ‘Oh hi, it’s kind of loud, this is Deb.’ So I shut off the tractor really quickly. I remember I was so excited I didn’t want to keep doing what I was doing. I just wanted to go tell everybody. I was not expecting it to go that fast, right out of school.”

That was nearly three years ago. Humphrey accepted a job as a boiler attendant at Leland Olds Station near Stanton, ND, and continues working with her father and husband on their farm on her days “off.”

Read more about Humphrey’s job in the September-October 2013 issue of Basin Today: A day in the life of a boiler attendent

Humphrey credits the Grow Your Own program with helping her get a job at a local power plant so quickly. Watch the video to find out why.

Leave a Reply

