Basin Electric employee runs five marathons in five states in five days

Mary Albrecht

Mary Albrecht finishes five marathons in five states in five days.

Mary Albrecht, shift supervisor at Leland Olds Station, is well on her way to achieving a goal that some people may think is next to impossible. She has set a goal to run one marathon in each of the 50 states in the United States. So far, she has run a marathon in 32 states. Watch the video.

Albrecht most recently ran in the New England Challenge May 20-24. The marathon consisted of five marathons, in five days, in five states including: Portland, ME; Nashua, NH; Warwick, RI; Hartford, CT; and Springfield, MA. “I thought the New England Challenge would be a really great way to rack five states off of my list in one shot,” she says. Mary trained similarly to how she trains for her other marathons and also added in yoga, strength training, cross training, and swimming to improve her flexibility and strength.

She says during her most recent marathon, she kept one thing in mind. “I knew I had so many more miles to go, so toward the end I just kept telling myself, ‘left right, left right,’” she says. “I had no idea how I was doing it. It was like my feet were going and my body was hanging in there, but I had no idea where it was coming from.”

She says her favorite part of the five races was meeting people. “I met people from all over the United States. I even met a gentleman that was running his 367th marathon! You meet all kinds of people in that atmosphere and you’re surrounded by people that have accomplished amazing things,” she says. “I’m really humbled just to be in their presence.”

Mary Albrecht

Albrecht finishes a marathon in Antarctica.

Albrecht plans to complete her 50 states goal with running her last marathon in Hawaii. “I want to do the marathon right away in Hawaii so that I have time to relax and enjoy a vacation there. That will be my grand finale,” she says.

Leave a Reply

