U.S. Senator-elect Heitkamp tenders resignation at Dakota Gas board meeting

Heitkamp and board

U.S. Sen.-elect Heidi Heitkamp attended her last Dakota Gasification Company (DGC) board meeting Dec. 10. She tendered her resignation in a letter to Basin Electric President Roy Ireland and Dakota Gas Chairman Donald Applegate saying, “With my election to the United States Senate, I am required to resign my position on the board for Dakota Gasification Company.

“I have greatly enjoyed being part of the management team for this wonderful, and still innovating, company. Where we all know that the employees have made the plant technologically successful, the Basin and DGC boards are also due credit for DGC’s success. Your willingness to take the financial risks necessary to keep the plant safe and economic has made this facility a worldwide example of what can be done to achieve energy independence for our country.

“During the campaign I referred to the Great Plains Synfuels Plant as the ‘Marvel on the Prairie.’ It has always been an example of the kind of innovation that is possible with great workers and
visionary leadership and I am very proud to have been a small part of this continuing and ever evolving experiment. …

“On a personal note,” she continued, “I will miss my monthly meetings with you and other board members. The Basin board and senior leadership have become family. …”

The above photo was taken of Heitkamp (in red) with all the board members of Basin Electric and Dakota Gasification Company and Andrew M. Serri, Basin Electric CEO and general manager, in celebration of her service to the Dakota Gas board on her last meeting as a director. Heitkamp said her farewells and tendered her resignation at the December board meeting.

Heitkamp won the close election for the North Dakota senate seat, being vacated by Sen. Kent Conrad, by about 2,900 votes over Rep. Rick Berg, a first-term congressman. Heitkamp has been a Dakota Gas director since 2001. She served as North Dakota attorney general from 1993 to 2000. She served as North Dakota’s tax commissioner from 1986 to 1992 and as an attorney for the tax commissioner’s office from 1981-86. Her career began as an attorney for the Environmental Protection Agency from 1980-81.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: