Deer Creek Station dedication tomorrow

Deer Creek Station dedicationYou’re invited to join us in celebrating the completion of a power plant that co-ops built: the Deer Creek Station. The dedication ceremony will take place at 10:30 a.m. tomorrow at the plant site.

Several guests are slated to speak: South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard, a member of U.S. Sen. Tim Johnson’s (D-SD) staff, a member of U.S. Sen. John Thune’s (R-SD) staff, a member of U.S. Rep. Kristi Noem’s (R-SD) staff, Brookings County Commission Chairperson Deanna Santema, Basin Electric Board Director Kermit Pearson, East River Electric Power Cooperative General Manager Jeff Nelson and Sioux Valley Energy Board Director Henning Hansen.

Tours will be available, and lunch will be served following the ceremony.

“It’s a celebration of the successful completion of construction; it was done on time, under budget and done safely,” said Curt Pearson, project coordination representative for Basin Electric.

The 300-net megawatt natural gas combined-cycle generation facility began commercial operation Aug. 1.

Find videos of the project’s construction on our YouTube playlist: Deer Creek Station videos

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: