A major milestone: Steam drum lift at Dry Fork Station

The steam drum is called “the heart of the boiler” in a power plant. And when it’s lifted, it’s a big deal. All 240 tons must be lifted 224 feet. The entire lift takes about 12 hours at 23 feet an hour.

Steam drum lift (looking up from below in boiler building)

Steam drum lift (looking up from below in boiler building)

This video shows the lift from 7:00 a.m. to about 12:30 p.m. It actually first lifted off its foundation at 8:35 p.m. and was tilted to a 45-degree angle at 10:20 a.m. Later this evening, once the steam drum is lifted to its full height, another crew will work eight to ten hours to secure it in the boiler building.

Comments

  1. Emily McKay says:

    Great video, Tracie! I got a little case of vertigo with your shots from to top of the boiler!!! I would have had a serious panic attack riding in the elevator.

  2. Earlier in the day, Tom Stalcup asked if we were scared of heights. I said, “No, I love heights!” Because I do. Really. When I’m at the plants, I love looking down through the grating.

    But I tell you what, it’s a little different when you’re up there with no walls, and you can see for miles around. Plus, the wind was blowing like nobody’s business. There was no dust up there, at least! But I felt myself moving toward the safety of the steel beams more often than not.

    I was totally impressed with Jared and Steve’s sense of balance and courage. They were carrying equipment around, getting their video and photos. I don’t think I could’ve done it. It was tough enough with the little Flip camera.

  3. Navneet tiwari says:

    Dear sir plz define why steam drum tilt in position.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,608 other followers

