Media advisory: Watch for falling hair

WHAT: Official St. Baldrick’s Foundation event – Basin Electric’s second Annual St. Baldrick’s event. More than 140 volunteers are shaving their heads to raise money for childhood cancer research and fellowships

WHEN: Tomorrow (March 17, 2009) 2 p.m. CDT – Official Basin Electric event

WHERE: Basin Electric Headquarters, Boardroom (Tandem events will take place at respective facilities).

Tandem events:
-Leland Olds Station, Stanton, ND – 1:45 p.m. MT (2:45 p.m. CDT)
-Antelope Valley Station, Beulah, ND – 1:30 p.m. MT (2:30 p.m. CDT)
-Great Plains Synfuels Plant, Beulah, ND – 1 p.m. MT (2 p.m. CDT)
-Laramie River Station, Wheatland, Wyo. – 1 p.m. MT (2 p.m. CDT)
-Dry Fork Station, Gillette, Wyo. – 12 p.m. MT, March 18
-Verendrye Electric Cooperative, Velva, N.D. – 12:30 p.m. CDT, March 19

WHO: Basin Electric employees and other community members participating in the event. Families of children honorees will also be attending.

Event emcees in Bismarck: Mike Eggl, Basin Electric senior vice president of External Relations and Communications, and Ted Cash, Basin Electric supervisor of media support. Ron Harper, Basin Electric CEO and general manager, will also be speaking. Kicking off the event will be a live auction – highest bid earns shaving rights to the heads of two VIPs.

Also of note:
-Basin Electric will be presenting a $15,000 check to the St. Baldrick’s foundation.

-Medcenter One Foundation staff will speak about Amber’s Dream, a major gift campaign to redesign the hospital’s children’s wing. Basin Electric, together with community cooperatives, will be announcing a major gift to this campaign. Amber’s Dream honors Amber DesRoches, daughter of Pam and John DesRoches, who died of leukemia just a little more than a year ago. Basin Electric will be honoring Amber for the second year as part of the St. Baldrick’s event.

BACKGROUND:
Last year, Basin Electric had originally hoped to get five brave people to shave their heads for the cause, and had 109 people participate. Today, more than 140 have signed up.

So far, employees and volunteer participants have raised more than $50,000; Basin Electric has pledged $15,000 toward the event above and beyond what has been raised – bringing that total to $65,000 and growing!

Basin Electric brought St. Baldrick’s to North Dakota, making North Dakota the 48th state to participate in this cause.

St. Baldrick’s is the world’s largest volunteer-driven fundraising event for childhood cancer research. Each year, thousands of volunteers shave their heads in solidarity of children with cancer, while requesting donations of support from friends and family. Since its inception in 2000, St. Baldrick’s has raised more than $50 million for the cause, shaved more than 72,000 heads in 18 countries and 48 states of the United States. Despite tremendous progress, cancer remains the #1 killer disease of children in the United States and Canada. The foundation’s mission is to raise awareness and funds to cure kids’ cancer by supporting cancer research and fellowships.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,661 other followers

%d bloggers like this: